safe, insightful talk alternative to family, friends, therapy, coaching

QUOTES ARCHIVE 2013

Thoughts about thought… from Eckhart Tolle

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

enemy compassion

This journey is yours – take charge of it. Stop giving other people the power to shape your life. -Dr. Steve Maraboli

If you don’t write yourself into existence, someone else
will have to invent you. -Anon.

Nagging doubts.

If you want to achieve greatness, stop asking for permission. -Eddie Colla

Own worst enemy.

Self pity is our worst enemy.
-Helen Keller

enemy voice

Trying to get everyone to like you is a sign of mediocrity. -Oren Harari

enemy list

enemy shine

If you had a friend who spoke to you the same way you sometimes speak to yourself, how long would you allow that person to be your friend? -unknown

enemy drugs

enemy rules

Get out of your own way. Stop the paralysis by analysis. Dream your dream… then WAKE UP and bring it to life.
-Dr. Steve Maraboli

enemy perfection

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Don’t Put Me on a Pedestal
In his mind he saw me as
An ideal, flawless woman.
So fresh, so sweet and innocent,
The epitome of perfection.

He put me on a pedestal,
Above the Crowd so high.
Then saw I was not perfect,
And left me high and dry.

I never said that I was perfect.
I never pretended to be.
All I ever really tried to do,
Was to be the very best me.

Why do we put people on pedestals?
No one can live up to the ideal.
All it ever really accomplishes
Is to obscure and hide what is real.

Do not put people on pedestals.
We are all human, and we do err.
And when People on pedestals fall,
So do the people who put them there.

I don’t belong on a pedestal,
I make lots of mistakes as I go.
Please try to give me the chance I need
To better myself, and change, and grow.

Don’t put me on a pedestal,
Just accept me for who I am.
A woman who tries her hardest
To be the very best she can.

by Celia Tracy
celia is just a girl, making her way in the world like any other girl.

Off balance.You know it’s never fifty-fifty in a marriage. It’s always seventy-thirty, or sixty-forty. Someone falls in love first. Someone puts someone else up on a pedestal. Someone works very hard to keep things rolling smoothly; someone else sails along for the ride.
Jodi Picoult

When you place someone up on a pedestal, don’t be surprised when they start to look down on you.
unknown

I think there’s always a danger when people put you on a pedestal. When you are “representing,” you have the burden of some people projecting their hopes onto you. This can eventually lead to a certain amount of disappointment. I strive to not deny myself experiences that open up to me. I hope to live without looking back in regret. If people want to join me on the ride, then I’m happy to have them along. – Lucy Liu

Apathy

The apathy of the people is enough to make every statue leap from its pedestal and hasten the resurrection of the dead. – William Lloyd Garrison

Do not stand on a high pedestal and take 5 cents in your hand and say, here, my poor man, but be grateful that the poor man is there, so by making a gift to him you are able to help yourself.It is not the reciever that is blessed, but it is the giver.Be thankful that you are allowed to exercise your power of benevolence and mercy in the world, and thus become pure and perfect.
Swami Vivekananda

I need privacy. I would think that because what I do makes a lot of people happy that I might deserve a little bit of respect in return. Instead, the papers try to drag me off my pedestal. – Jim Carrey

Pedestal is a prison.

Take motherhood: nobody ever thought of putting it on a moral pedestal until some brash feminists pointed out, about a century ago, that the pay is lousy and the career ladder nonexistent. – Barbara Ehrenreich

The most important scientific revolutions all include, as their only common feature, the dethronement of human arrogance from one pedestal after another of previous convictions about our centrality in the cosmos. – Stephen Jay Gould

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Actors: They’re talented – and wise.

Actors have a tough job, in my opinion. They have to dig deep through all of their research, training, life experiences, and vulnerabilities to create – then perform a persona that is someone else’s vision, and therefore, may or may not be accepted. Actors are ultimately judged every step of the way: physicality, auditions, ratings, box office draw… right on through to what is oft considered the big success – or lose… awards season. Their lives are suspended first for their craft, and then for the big marketing wheel: a befuddling dance between fantasy and reality. The life of an actor is a challenge on every level, and prime for gathering great wisdom and insight, as follows:

Cary Grant


“I pretended to be somebody I wanted to be until finally
I became that person. Or he became me.” ~Cary Grant

Reality is something you rise above. -Liza Minelli

brad-pitt-religion

Morgan Freeman

Find out what you don’t want to know about yourself, what you’re afraid of, and then face it head on.
-Linda Evans.

Gilda Radner
I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it without knowing what’s going to happen next.
-Gilda Radner

One of the things I learned the hard way is that it doesn’t pay to get discouraged.
– Lucille Ball

Khan Success

I realized, that if what we call human nature can be changed, then absolutely anything is possible. From that moment my life changed. -Shirley MacLaine

Drew Barrymore


If you have made serious mistakes, there is always another chance for you. What we call failure is not the falling down, but the staying down.
– Mary Pickford

A strong positive mental attitude will create more miracles than any wonder drug. – Patricia Neal


Peter Dinklage

~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

David Herbert (D.H.) Lawrence, novelist, short-story writer, poet and essayist, was born in England, in 1885. Lawrence was a rebellious and profoundly polemical writer with radical views, who regarded sex, the primitive subconscious, and nature as cures to what he considered the evils of modern industrialized society. D.H. was often involved in widely-publicized censorship cases, most famously for his novel Lady Chatterley’s Lover. Tremendously prolific, his work was a continual source of controversy, and a continual source of good quotes! Here’s a taste:

Trust me.

“Human love, human trust, are always perilous, because they break down. The greater the love, the greater the trust, and the greater the peril, the greater the disaster. Because to place absolute trust on another human being is in itself a disaster, both ways, since each human being is a ship that must sail its own course, even if it go in company with another ship…. And yet, love is the greatest thing between human beings.”

“No form of love is wrong, so long as it is love, and you yourself honour what you are doing. Love has an extraordinary variety of forms! And that is all there is in life, it seems to me. But I grant you, if you deny the variety of love you deny love altogether. If you try to specialize love into one set of accepted feelings, you wound the very soul of love. Love must be multi-form, else it is just tyranny, just death”

Risky love.

“Nobody knows you. You don’t know yourself. And I, who am half in love with you, What am I in love with? My own imaginings?”

dh hot

Lady Chatterly

“It’s no good trying to get rid of your own aloneness. You’ve got to stick to it all your life. Only at times, at times, the gap will be filled in. At times! But you have to wait for the times. Accept your own aloneness and stick to it, all your life. And then accept the times when the gap is filled in, when they come. But they’ve got to come. You can’t force them.” ―Lady Chatterley’s Lover

“Perhaps only people who are capable of real togetherness have that look of being alone in the universe. The others have a certain stickiness, they stick to the mass.” ― Lady Chatterley’s Lover

dh dreams

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

While we’re on the “relationship” train on these most recent posts, I’m going to opt for a few songs to look to for wisdom, inspiration, memories – good or bad, to get you thinking about where you are at in your relationships and what you WANT in your relationships.

The greatest message is: your primary relationship is with yourself, and until you believe this, relationships are likely to steer your life instead of you steering your life. You don’t need to have everything reconciled and perfect before attaching yourself with another, however, your energy needs to be dominant on growing your relationship with yourself first, and simply appreciating and using the love and support of another to both challenge and encourage what you want for your life.

Here’s a few songs whose lyrics may resonate… or just entertain:

Savage Garden: I Knew I Loved You Before I Met You (lyrics version)

Nellie McKay: I Wanna Get Married

I wanna get married
Yes, I need a spouse
I want a nice Leave it to Beaverish
Golden retriever and a little white house
I wanna get married
I need to cook meals
I wanna pack you cute little lunches
For my Brady bunches
Then read Danielle Steele

I wanna escape
This rat race I’ve created
I’m feelin’ enervated
I don’t care if I make it
I just want to bake a sugar cake for you
To take to work in the morn
And I’ll stay home cleaning the dishes
And keeping your wishes all warm
I wanna get married
That’s why I was born

I wanna partake in bake sales for the classroom
I wanna hear the sweet tune
Of Sally’s little vroom-vroom
As she zooms around my broom
As I exhume the gloom
Of my shallow life
I wanna be simple and honest and dimpled
’cause I am your wife
I will never tarry
I’m not even torn
I wanna get married
That’s why I was born

Alanis Morissette: Everything (acoustic)

I can be an asshole
of the grandest kind
I can withhold like it’s
going out of style
I can be the moodiest baby and you’ve never met
anyone who is as
negative as I am sometimes

I am the wisest woman you’ve ever met.
I am the kindest soul with whom you’ve connected.
I have the bravest heart that you’ve ever seen
And you’ve never met anyone
Who’s as positive as I am sometimes.

You see everything, you see every part
You see all my light and you love my dark
You dig everything of which I’m ashamed
There’s not anything to which you can’t relate
And you’re still here

I blame everyone else, not my own partaking
My passive-aggressiveness can be devastating
I’m terrified and mistrusting
And you’ve never met anyone as,
As closed down as I am sometimes.

You see everything, you see every part
You see all my light and you love my dark
You dig everything of which I’m ashamed
There’s not anything to which you can’t relate
And you’re still here

What I resist, persists, and speaks louder than I know
What I resist, you love, no matter how low or high I go

I’m the funniest woman you’ve ever known.
I am the dullest woman you’ve ever known.
I’m the most gorgeous woman you’ve ever known
And you’ve never met anyone as, as everything as I am sometimes.

You see everything, you see every part
You see all my light and you love my dark
You dig everything of which I’m ashamed
There’s not anything to which you can’t relate
And you’re still here

And you’re still here
And you’re still here…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Random quotes on relationships and love…

Simple beauty.

Don’t choose the one who is beautiful to the world, choose the one who makes your world beautiful.

Some relationships are like glass. It’s better to leave it broken, than to hurt yourself more by trying to put it back together.

Say what you mean and mean what you say.
Don’t expect others to read your mind, and don’t play games with their heads and hearts. Don’t tell half-truths and expect people to trust you when the full truth comes out. Half-truths are no better than lies.
And don’t ignore someone you care about, because lack of concern hurts more than angry words.

Expect the unexpected.

Everyone wants a perfect ending. But over the years I’ve learned that some of the best poems don’t rhyme, and many great stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, or end. Life is about not knowing, embracing change, and taking a moment and making the best of it without knowing what’s going to happen next.

The most beautiful thing is to see a person you love smiling. And even more beautiful is knowing that you are the reason behind it.

Love means giving someone the chance to hurt you…
but trusting them not to.

lonely society

Choose your relationships wisely. It’s better to be alone than to be in bad company.

Being alone does not mean you are lonely, and being lonely does not mean you are alone.

Fall in love when you’re ready, not when you’re lonely.

Don’t wait for the right person to come into your life. Rather, be the right person to come to someone’s life.

Never allow someone to be your priority
while allowing yourself to be their option.

love suess (3)You know you’ve found true love when you catch yourself falling in love with the same person over and over again.

The one who is meant for you encourages you to be your best, but still loves and accepts you at your worst.

It is okay to be angry. It is never okay to be cruel.

When things fall apart, consider the possibility that life knocked it down on purpose. Not to bully you, or to punish you, but to prompt you to build something that better suits your personality and your purpose.

Sometimes things fall apart so better things can fall together.

Look deep.

Lets just imagine this – what you think is going on, is just a symptom.
Usually what you think is going on is just the surface, but not necessarily the path. If this is the symptom – – what is the source? Tears are an indicator that you have found the truth – follow the path of the pain. -Cheryl Richardson, Author, Coach

To have weakness is not to be flawed – – it’s to be complete.
-Deepak Chopra

Baby, I was born this way!

“I don’t want to wake up one day and realize that no one knows me.” Sam, Rookie Blue

“It’s impossible to monitor every thought we have.
Researchers tell us that we have about sixty thousand thoughts a day. Can you imagine how exhausted you’d feel trying to control all of those thoughts? Fortunately, there’s an easier way. And it’s our feelings. Our feelings let us know what it is that we’re thinking.”
~
Marci Shimoff, “The Secret”

frogs crochet (2)

“Five frogs are sitting on a log.
Four decide to jump off. How many are left?
Five, because deciding is different than doing.”
– Anon.

“Accept—then act. Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it…This will miraculously transform your whole life.”
— Eckhart Tolle

Yes, you can.

“The very least you can do in your life is to figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. Not admire it from a distance but live right in it, under its roof.” — Barbara Kingsolver

“Sorrow comes in great waves…but it rolls over us, and though it may almost smother us it leaves us on the spot and we know that if it is strong, we are stronger, inasmuch as it passes and we remain.” Henry James

Learn to dance in the rain

“But we can’t live in the light all of the time. You have to take whatever light you can hold into the dark with you.”— Libba Bray

“If your life is cloudy and you’re far, far off course, you may have to go on faith for a while, but eventually you’ll learn that every time you trust your internal navigation system, you end up closer to your right life.”— Martha Beck

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

learn taylor

Picking up on last week’s theme of GRAD wisdom, here are expressions from others as to what they have learned in the school of life.

I’ve learned… that we don’t have to change friends if we understand that friends change.

I’ve learned… that two people can look at the exact same thing and see something totally different.

I’ve learned that you can do something in an instant that will give you heartache for life.

I’ve learned that we are responsible for what we do, no matter how we feel.

I’ve learned… that heroes are the people who do what has to be done when it needs to be done, regardless of the consequences.

learn worry

I’ve learned that sometimes the people you expect to kick you when you’re down will be the ones to help you get back up.

I’ve learned that it isn’t always enough to be forgiven by others, sometimes you have to learn to forgive yourself.

I’ve learned… that maturity has more to do with what types of experiences you’ve had and what you’ve learned from them and less to do with how many birthdays you’ve celebrated.

learn mistakes

I’ve learned… that just because two people argue, it doesn’t mean they don’t love each other. And just because they don’t argue, it doesn’t mean they do.

I’ve learned… that credentials on the wall do not make you a decent human being.

I’ve learned… that you cannot make someone love you. All you can do is stalk them and hope they panic and give in. LOL!

If I’ve learned anything in life, it’s that sometimes things get in your path and you have a choice. you can either smash right into them or you can adjust and move around, but you have to do one or the other in order to move forward.

I’ve learned… that just because someone doesn’t love you the way you want them to doesn’t mean they don’t love you with all they have.

I’ve learned… that no matter how much I care, some people just don’t care back.

I’ve learned that sometimes when I’m angry I have the right to be angry, but that doesn’t give me the right to be cruel.

learn responsible

I’ve learned that there are people who love you dearly, but just don’t know how to show it.

I’ve learned… that no matter how good a friend is, they’re going to hurt you every once in a while, and you must forgive them for that.

I’ve learned that my best friend and I can do anything, or nothing, and have the best time.

I’ve learned… that you should never ruin an apology with an excuse.

I’ve learned that it takes years to build up trust and only seconds to destroy it.

I’ve learned that you cannot make someone love you. All you can do is be someone who can be loved. The rest is up to them.

I’ve learned that you should always leave loved ones with loving words. It may be the last time you’ll see them.

learn still

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

grad 3

It’s GRAD season, and out of the thousands of commencement speeches comes some good “new old advice”, presented in the relevance of the times that is 2013.

Here are some familiar folks/companies making the “inspiration” rounds, useful for ALL of us:

Sir Richard Branson, Chairman Virgin Group, Entrepreneur Speaking at University of Missouri

“The best advice I could give any graduate is to spend your time working on whatever you are passionate about in life. If your degree was focused upon one particular area, don’t let that stop you moving in another direction. If college hasn’t worked out for you, don’t let that put you off. Virgin’s expansion into so many different areas is borne out of my insatiable curiosity to enjoy new experiences and pursue fresh challenges.”

“Education doesn’t take place in stuffy classrooms and university buildings. It can happen everywhere, every day to every person.”

Dick Costolo, CEO of Twitter Speaking at University of Michigan

“As you get ready to walk out under the bright lights of the improvisational stage of the rest of your life… be bold. Don’t always worry about what your next line is going to be.”

Neil deGrasse Tyson, Astrophysicist Speaking at Rice University

“Your diploma is not a ticket to show off what you know. It’s permission to admit to yourself how much you still have yet to learn.”

grad1Carson Kressley, Fashion Celebrity Speaking at Philadelphia University

“If you live your life only following the path you think is approved or acceptable, or the one you think is expected of you, you’ll be making a huge mistake. Not a single successful person… has ever done great things because they played it safe. You’ve got to be true to yourself.”

Darius Rucker, Hootie & the Blowfish Speaking at University of South Carolina

“..find something that makes you want to give ’til it hurts.”

Nate Silver, NY Times Statistician Speaking at Ripon College

“…read widely, consult for advice broadly, and take a multidisciplinary approach rather than specializing too much.”

Anders Holm, ‘Workaholics’ Speaking at University of Wisconsin-Madison

“Practice being curious, want to know things, ask questions.”

Cory Booker, Mayor of Newark Speaking at Yale University

“Get out of bed. Keep going. I will not quit. I will not give up no matter how dark the days, no matter how big my failure. I won’t lose lessons that I could gather while on my knees. I won’t lose the lessons I can find in my lowest pits of despair, because when I emerge, it’s those lessons that will define my being.’”

President Obama Speaking at Morehouse College

Let nothing stop you

“The most successful CEOs I know didn’t start out intent on making money – rather, they had a vision of how their product or service would change things, and the money followed.”

Mark Shields, Political Analyst Speaking at Saint Michaels College

“Call your mother…not text, not e-mail—call her. She wants to hear how you sound.” [If you become parents,] “spend more time than you judge to be reasonable with your children. Please know that no one in recorded history, on his or her death bed has ever said, ‘Gee, I wish I had spent more time at the office.’”

Howard Gordon, Co-Creator of ‘Homeland’ Speaking at Connecticut College

“Listening takes practice, and it takes patience. But I promise, if you listen, your story will be better for it.”

Rick Hodes, Physician and Author Speaking at Brandeis University

“Remember this: Run to do good. Create a momentum in the right direction. Get your hands dirty. Wear out your shoes. Don’t try to get too comfortable, please!”

Carlos Eire, Author and Professor (History and Religious Studies, Yale) Speaking at Midland University

“If it weren’t for my failures and my painful experiences, I would not be here today speaking to you…It’s a way of saying the risks I took brought me here. Failure has brought me to his podium, more failures than I can count…These failures are my trophies.”

Steve Case, Co-Founder of AOL Speaking at University of North Carolina

“Be curious. Be open. Be flexible. Let your life unfold as a series of chapters. Don’t be so fixated on a specific ending that you neglect to open the door when opportunity knocks.”

Arianna Huffington, Journalist and Author Speaking at Smith College

Changing TimesSuccess has largely been determined by money and power, but we need a third metric based on well-being, wisdom, our ability to wonder, and to give back, but I want to ask you, instead, to redefine success. Because the world you are headed into desperately needs it. The last time my Mother got angry with me before she died was when she saw me reading my email and talking to my children at the same time. “I abhor multitasking,” she said. In other words, being connected in a shallow way to the entire world can prevent us from being deeply connected to those closest to us — including ourselves. And that is where wisdom lies.”

~~~

Oh no you di'nt“Another Smith graduation speaker, Alistair Cooke, notoriously told the class of 1954 that their way to the top would be determined by whom they married.

I want to do old Alistair one better, and tell you that you don’t get to the top by marrying someone. A much simpler way is to sleep your way to the top.

Right now I imagine [Smith College] President Christ is thinking she probably should have vetted this speech! But no, I’m talking about sleep in the literal sense. I know of what I speak: In 2007, sleep deprived and exhausted, I fainted, hit my head on my desk, broke my cheekbone and got four stitches on my right eye. And even as it’s affecting our health, sleep deprivation will also profoundly affect your creativity, your productivity, and your decision-making.”

CONGRATS ALL 2013 GRADS (of any type of graduation in your life!!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

According to Tyler Knott Gregson:

I am a photographer.
Poet.
Artist.
Exploitable Genius.
Word Alchemist.
Thought Translator.
Boy With Faraway Eyes.
Buddhist.

What I know of him – he has a fabulous way with words. He calls the following his “typewriter series”, in which there are several hundred typed on whatever scrap paper is nearby it seems! Find more about Tyler and his work: http://tylerknott.com/

Tyler knott gregson11

Tyler knott gregson3

Tyler knott gregson6

Tyler knott gregson

Tyler knott gregson2

tyler knott gregson words

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Song lyrics are a constant inspiration to me – if I dig the tune, bonus!!  Like books, when you are ready to hear the message, they will resonate more; and some old songs that I re-listen to years later take on a whole new life and become new favorites.

This is a song that I loved immediately upon hearing and is still a top fave; the lyrics are extremely penetrating in their naked simplicity.  If when reading them, a visceral choked-up feeling or tears evolve – we may have some issues of self-worth, limiting beliefs or behaviour patterns to talk about.

Read the lyrics without knowing the artist or tune, then if you’re so inspired, check out the video here .  BTW – this whole CD is inspirational lyrics-rich, in my opinion! And unplugged – perfect for those introspective moods.

that I would be good even if I did nothing

that I would be good even if I got the thumbs down

that I would be good if I got and stayed sick

that I would be good even if I gained ten pounds 

that I would be fine even if I went bankrupt

that I would be good if I lost my hair and my youth

that I would be great if I was no longer queen

that I would be grand if I was not all knowing 

that I would be loved even when I numb myself

that I would be good even when I am overwhelmed

that I would be loved even when I was fuming

that I would be good even if I was clingy 

that I would be good even if I lost sanity

that I would be good… whether with or without you

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GaryVarvel1-300x209

You cant make sanity out of an insane situation. A high quality life has a lot more to do with what you remove from your life than what you add to it. – Cheryl Richardson

“I am wired by nature to love the same toys that the world loves. I start to fit in. I start to love what others love. I start to call earth “home.” Before you know it, I am calling luxuries “needs” and using my money just the way unbelievers do. I begin to forget the war. I don’t think much about people perishing. Missions and unreached people drop out of my mind. I stop dreaming about the triumphs of grace. I sink into a secular mind-set that looks first to what man can do, not what God can do. It is a terrible sickness. And I thank God for those who have forced me again and again toward a wartime mind-set.” ― John Piper, Don’t Waste Your Life

thoughts2

The common course of things is in favor of happiness; happiness is the rule, misery the exception. Were the order reversed, our attention would be called to examples of health and competency, instead of disease and want. —Paley.

i am

“We’re so quick to cut away pieces of ourselves to suit a particular relationship, a job, a circle of friends, incessantly editing who we are until we fit in.” ― Charles de Lint, Happily Ever After

fitting in1

“I don’t fit into any stereotypes. And I like myself that way.” ― C. JoyBell C.

beautiful

People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they’re not on your road doesn’t mean they’ve gotten lost. – H. Jackson Brown

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Why is it, he said one time at the subway entrance, that I feel that I’ve known you a long time?” Because I like you,” she said, “and I don’t want anything from you.” – Ray Bradbury

 

When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it happened or not. –Mark Twain

The IQ and the life expectancy of the average American recently passed each other in opposite directions.-George Carlin

If Helen Keller had psychic ability, would you say she had a fourth sense? – George Carlin

Life is not like a box of chocolates. It’s more like a jar of jalapenos. What’s good today may burn your ass tomorrow. -unknown

Don’t give up. Keep going. There is always a chance that you stumble onto something terrific. I have never heard of anyone stumbling over anything while he was sitting down.  -Ann Landers

Everything can be taken from us but one thing, the last of the human freedoms… to choose one’s attitude in any given circumstance. -Victor Frankl


ECKHART TOLLE:

There are going to be days when you won’t have the energy or drive to get out of bed. There are going to be days when you’re going to want to give up – give up on love, life, or school. The thing is, you’re not allowed to give up. You were given a life and you’re supposed to live it. The truth is, the seventy or eighty years that you’re given isn’t long enough to do the things you’re supposed to do. Sure, you’re gonna hit a few bumps along the way, but you’ve got to pick yourself up and move on. Life is unpredictable and things might not always work out the way you want them to, but that’s no reason to give up. You’re here for a reason and someday when you’re not expecting it, you’re going to discover your reason for being here. And when that does happen, your life will never be the same again.”

Don’t tell everyone else how to live; LIVE, and let them watch you

Life will give you whatever experience is most helpful for the evolution of your consciousness. How do you know this is the experience you need? Because this is the experience you are having at this moment.

Loneliness is the human condition.
Cultivate it. The way it tunnels into you allows you some room to grow.

Never expect to outgrow loneliness. Never hope to find people who will understand you, someone to fill that space. An itelligent, sensitive person is the exception, the very great exception. If you expect to find people who will understand you, you will grow murderous with disappointment.

The best you’ll ever do is to understand yourself, know what it is that you want, and not let the cattle stand in your way. – Janet Finch, White Oleander

‘What’s your name,’ Coraline asked the cat. ‘Look, I’m Coraline. Okay?’ ‘Cats don’t have names,’ it said.

‘No?’ said Coraline

‘No,’ said the cat. ‘Now you people have names. That’s because you don’t know who you are. We know who we are, so we don’t need names.’ – Neil Gaiman, Coraline

THE DAKINI SPEAKS

My friends, let’s grow up. Let’s stop pretending we don’t know the deal here. Or if we truly haven’t noticed, let’s wake up and notice.

Look: everything that can be lost, will be lost. It’s simple–how could we have missed it for so long? Let’s grieve our losses fully, like ripe human beings, But please, let’s not be so shocked by them. Let’s not act so betrayed, As though life had broken her secret promise to us.

Impermanence is life’s only promise to us, And she keeps it with ruthless impeccability.

To a child she seems cruel, but she is only wild, And her compassion is exquisitely precise: Brilliantly penetrating, luminous with truth, She strips away the unreal to show us the real. This is the true ride — let’s give ourselves to it!

Let’s stop making deals for a safe passage: There isn’t one anyway, and the cost is too high.

We are not children any more. The true human adult gives everything for what cannot be lost. Let’s dance the wild dance of no hope! – Jennifer Welwood

 “It all begins and ends in your mind. What you give power to, has power over you, if you allow it.” -Leon Brown

Listen to your own voice, your own soul, too many people listen to the noise of the world, instead of themselves. -unknown

Tag Cloud